Bayside Martin Luther King Jr. Academy

School Site Council Meeting

Wednesday, September 27, 2017




  1. Welcome

Meeting started: 3:46 pm


Facilitator and Notetaker: Pecolia Manigo (consultant)


Attendance: Tiffany Davis, Jae Moses, Alba Lopez, Bettie Hodges, Juliet Simpson, Felicia Younger, Jennifer Puckett, David Finnane, Louis Edney, Marin County Counselor, CosbyMazariegos


  1. Review of Purpose of SSC

Discussed the role of SSC

Reviewed the history of SSC

Reviewed the composition requirements by law


  1. Update on Staff Elections

Classified Elected: Trellis Condra

Certificated Elected: Mary Thompson, Louis Edney, Julie Fredericks


  1. Parent/Community Member Elections

Elections held in the first meeting of the SSC

Parents nominated prior to SSC meeting: Tiffany Davis, Jae Moses, Sanjay Kumar

Parents voting: Tiffany Davis, Jae Moses, CosbyMazariegos

Parents Elected: Tiffany Davis, Jae Moses, and CosbyMazariegos

Alternates Elected: Sanjay Kumar and Alba Lopez

Community Members Elected: Bettie Hodges and Juliet Simpson


  1. Review, Edit, and Approve Bylaws

Amendments to Bylaws:

Terms of Office: changes to 2 years- Approved by unanimous votes

Standing Committee of ELAC established- Approved unanimous votes

Officers of the SSC added in bylaws- Approved unanimous votes

Conduct of Meetings: changes to Robert's Rules- Approved unanimous votes

Bylaws- adopted by unanimous votes

Pecolia will update bylaws with new language and send to SSC


  1. Review Roles of Officers and Conduct Election of Officers

Discussed roles of Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, and Secretary

Nominated and elected the following SSC members to serve as Officers:

Chairperson: Tiffany Davis

Vice Chairperson: Mary Thompson

Secretary: Jae Moses


  1. Establishment and Approval of 2017-2018 SSC Meeting Dates

The 1st Wednesday of every month shall be the regular meeting of the SSC from 3:30-5pm

Approved: unanimous votes

Dates for Academic year 2017-18:

November 1, December 6, February 7, March 7, April 4 and May 2


  1. Public Comment

Announcements made regarding community meetings


  1. Close

Adjourned at 5:04 pm